British Columbia

Enter Shikari Live at the Imperial

Enter Shikari Live at the Imperial

By Brendan Lee Imperial Friday, February 16th, 2018 VANCOUVER – Reaching peak velocity on the end of their first Canadian…


Beatroute BC on Instagram

  • BeatRoute has a weekly podcast on saveonradio every Monday fromhellip
  • Dan Starlings experimental film The Chorus provides a fresh takehellip
  • entershikari are bona fide masters of versatility with a genreblendinghellip
  • ExOzzy Osbourne guitarist and Black Label Society frontman Zakk Wyldehellip
  • Rise  Shine Music Seminar is an event to showcasehellip
  • Noble Oak is taking the Rhodes less travelled Check outhellip
  • Welsh pop punk outfit Neck Deep are playing at voguetheatrehellip
  • devhynes is one of the many incredible headliners set tohellip
  • Already backed by a considerable YouTube following for her ukelelehellip

Ty Segall – Manipulator

Friday 03rd, October 2014 / 18:28
By Shayla Friesen


Drag City

The Bay Area’s Ty Segall wishes our ears well with his latest album, Manipulator. Spoiling us with a whopping 17 tracks, Segall is seemingly clearing his crusty ways, indulging us with tastier riffs and tighter song structures. Rock-induced comas may occur.

The songs are fresh, glam-rock ridden (Bowie before the cocaine), and exuberantly easy to listen to. Segall is learning that slow and steady really does win the race. It took him more than a year to write and record the album, shocking after the many flash albums he’s dropped in his 27 years here on Earth.

Some may be looking for something more raw and rickety from the garage rockster, but his latest release from Drag City cleanses the palate, leaving us begging for more psychedelic pills in the form of washed-out guitar.

Organs are the greeters on the title track, easing the listener into the visionary voyage. “The Faker” is a superb tie-dyed T-Rex raunch. Upbeat, “Tall Man Skinny Lady,” will linger in your mainframe for many minutes after the initial spin, the perfect segue for the following stringy ballad, “The Singer.” There is much to feel (see: “The Feels”), and much to reminisce about if you grew up in the golden age of the ‘70s (or, those of us who were there in spirit).

Don’t worry, there’s still much fuzz to be found on the record – enough to last ‘till Ty’s next release. Let’s not expect that to be too soon, though.


AFFILIATE DISCLOSURE: is a member of Apple Music's Affiliate Program. This site collects commissions on purchases that our site's readers decide to make from Apple Music/iTunes affiliate embeds and hyperlinks provided in our posts.




Beatroute AB on Instagram

  • I Am The Mountain are set to release something soulfulhellip
  • This is just the first wave people Over 200 morehellip
  • What we want to create is the notion that yourehellip
  • Record review On songs like the opener Doghead brittle guitarhellip
  • Video premiere alert! Erin Kay debuts Holding You Tonight exclusivelyhellip
  • February 2018 issue out now  This month features Amythysthellip
  • NorthernCree are the worlds premier powwow round dance drum andhellip
  • Sup? Feel like going to a party? Heard there willhellip
  • Cartel Madras is playing the first ever hiphop set tohellip