British Columbia

Flying Lotus Live at the Vogue Theatre

Flying Lotus Live at the Vogue Theatre

By Jeevin Johal The Vogue Theatre November 20th, 2017 VANCOUVER – A generation of amateur smartphone photographers and filmmakers have…


Beatroute BC on Instagram

  • After 30 years school is back in session! We caughthellip
  • Silicon Valley star TJ Miller is a comedian with somehellip
  • One of Canadas hardest working and loudest voices in punkhellip
  • Full throttle rock n roll with partnerband at mformontreal2017
  • Thanks to director  curator of thepolygongallery Reid Shier forhellip
  • VIDEO PREMIERE! Vancouver rock n roll basement dweller Eric Campbellhellip
  • Had a great time with dearrouge at the JUNO Awardshellip
  • WHY LISA WHY!? Email contestsbeatrouteca for your chance to winhellip
  • M For Montreal industry panel Views of the six howtomakeitintoronto

Album Review: Gord Downie – Introduce Yerself

Thursday 02nd, November 2017 / 17:36
By Jamie McNamara

Illustration by Greg Doble

Gord Downie

Introduce Yerself
Arts & Crafts

For the larger part of his storied career with The Tragically Hip, Gord Downie spent his time telling stories belonging to other people. From “Wheat Kings,” all the way to last year’s Secret Path, Downie himself took a backseat to a cast of characters steeped in Canadian lore.

Introduce Yerself, Downie’s posthumous 23-song double album, serves as an introduction of sorts to a Canadian legend that has kept much of his life private. Instead of telling other people’s stories, Downie is finally telling his own.

Downie’s best lyrics were always written to be humanizing at the same time as myth-making. On Introduce Yerself, he does the same thing to the people in his own life, writing plaintively about the people and places he cared most about.

Most of the songs here are about small moments like on “Spoon” and “Bedtime,” both stories about Downie marveling at his children. Or like on “You Me and the B’s,” about his love of the Boston Bruins that he shared with his brother. Every piece of Introduce Yerself feels like it has been scaled back to not seem self-indulgent. This is not Downie’s sweeping goodbye opus, but instead a quiet farewell to the people he cared about most.

In a press release accompanying the album, Downie said that the words contained on the album were written before any music was made. “A lot of these I wrote the words in advance like poems. I’d get one or two a day and then I’d have to stop. Because that’s about all… the soul or whatever, would give up. And then, so with music, it becomes pretty easy.”
Indeed, the music here, produced mostly by Downie and Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew, takes a backseat to the lyrics, but it’s hardly a complaint.

The album is much less poetic than much of Downie’s past work, but it only serves to demystify the singer. These are some of the most affecting songs Downie ever put to tape, recorded swiftly over two four-day sessions in January 2016 and February 2017, with the finished album often reflecting first takes.

Accompanied mostly by sparse piano, acoustic guitar and drums, it never sounds like Downie is searching for the right words. Instead, he opts for an Sun Kil Moon-esque retelling of stories, fitting awkward, matter-of-fact lyrics into beautiful vocal melodies.

Much like Downie’s career, Introduce Yerself is a varied listen, swinging from upbeat reminiscing to mournful rumination over its runtime. Standout track “Love Over Money” is a short song about Downie’s bandmates in The Tragically Hip and their rise from playing small gigs in Kingston, ON to playing for the Queen of England. Elsewhere, “A Better End” sonically picks up where 2016’s Secret Path left off, powered by throbbing percussion and spacious reverb.

Thematically, Downie continues his crusade for “a Canada we should have never called Canada” on “The North,” a devastating account of the ravages of colonialism in the Arctic. It’s quintessential Downie that even on his final album, he still spends most of the time thinking about anyone but himself. His final advice for the “boys in the north,” and presumably listeners is to “turn our faces to the sun and get whatever warmth there is.” It’s hard to imagine leaving a legendary career off on a better note than that.

AFFILIATE DISCLOSURE: is a member of Apple Music's Affiliate Program. This site collects commissions on purchases that our site's readers decide to make from Apple Music/iTunes affiliate embeds and hyperlinks provided in our posts.




Beatroute AB on Instagram

  • sarahtigerwing killing it at femmewavefest   mgrondinphoto
  • We  slutprophet femmewavefest   mgrondinphoto
  • hoodjoplin making everyone dance femmewavefest    mgrondinphoto
  • No one does it like sinzereofficial femmewavefest   mgrondinphoto
  • FRIDAY NOVEMBER 24  Last chance to get loose beforehellip
  • Bunwitch tearing up the Legion femmewavefest   mgrondinphoto
  • softlions all the way from San Diego for femmewavefest hellip
  • I needed to detach and disconnect and nurture my soulhellip
  • Headliner sammusmusic is closing out femmewavefest with a bang! hellip